Holy Spirit Conversation 

I brought my bike to the beach for a ride. As I took off toward the south, I beaconed to the Holy Spirit to come near. He said, I have always been near you, when you were a small child and as a teen, then when you reached the age of love and married and nurtured your children, now in your old age I will not leave you. I answered, “Holy, holy, holy are you Holy Spirit. I want you, I need you, today and forevermore. I won’t be satisfied with an emotional wake-up call, for my God is a promise keeper. He will fulfill His will for me and pull me through. He says, “I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.” (Exodus 20:5-6) 

When I get a glimpse of the Spirit’s perspective of my life, inclinations, thoughts, and actions, it often reveals how self focused and predominately worthless are the bulk of them. An adage speaks of everyone’s “fifteen minutes of fame”, in the judgment it may be true that much of our life was wasted on selfish pursuits. I don’t think anyone other than Yeshua lived a life focused on self-sacrifice and total surrender to God. It’s not an excuse, but when He is revealed our hidden life will also be revealed, and it is a life in the Spirit from and to God for His glory. No one will have fifteen minutes of which to boast about before God. It makes me sad to consider my selfishness, but the answer is not in trying harder to be good, but surrendering to Him. “If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” (1 Corinthians 13: 3) “Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.”(Matthew 10:39) His charge to those who follow Him Is, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:23) Holy Spirit lead me and pull me through when I get stuck.

About Steve2525

Retired Journeyman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment