Your Source of Help

Do you feel overwhelmed or burdened by what is happening around you? Are there issues in your family or relationships that are troubling? Are you facing heath or financial issues that cast a cloud of uncertainty over your future? Do you seem caught in a malaise or routine with little hope of change, break or relief? Any one of these can bring oppression and a combination of them can become a horrible burden to bear. Where do you look for help? Who can you turn to for insight? “He said: “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation. He is my stronghold, my refuge and my savior— from violent people you save me.” (2 Samuel 22:2-3) This was the testimony of king David about God Almighty. 

Recently, we were put to the test. My son had compartment syndrome, but we didn’t know it. Among other symptoms He had kidney failure. I asked the nurse what his CK lab number was, she said, “211,000” I asked what was normal, she said, from 20 to 170, and my heart sank. A week later after dialysis the CK went down to 6000, still non-functioning. One kidney Dr. said she had never seen a number as high as his. They recommended continuing dialysis. Many were praying, in another week they said his numbers were normal. Nothing is impossible with God. “The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.” (Psalms 6:9)

God works things out for our good, but not always in our time schedule or in the way we expect. We are often at least partly responsible for bad things that come our way, but the world is full of difficulty. God puts in families so we can help each other. The old adage, “Blood is thicker than water”, refers to this family bond. How healthy are your family bonds? 

The enemy works overtime to destroy families through temptation to unfaithfulness, divorce, bitterness and contempt from arguments. I’m praying for prodigals and division in families because the strength of any nation is measured by the health of its families. Do you want to see God move and come to your aid? Do you want to see God’s goodness and favor? Humble yourself and begin forgiving the grudges and offenses that exist in your family. We have power to forgive others and when we do it will release us from our own bondages. “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” (Luke 6:38)

About Steve2525

Retired Journeyman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment